Which is the best credit card in India with no annual fee or no joining fee?

• I am a beginner looking for my first credit card. I have a decent salary and want to try a free credit card or a no annual fee credit card initially. So, can anyone suggest a credit card without any annual fee or joining fee and some good rewards and benefits as well. I searched but got confused as which one is the best? I have also heard that having too many credit cards can hamper our credit score. So, I wish to get a good credit card in the first try only.

• Hi, I think ICICI Platinum Chip credit card can be a good choice. This is a no annual fee card with some good benefits like shopping discounts, payback points and fuel surcharge waiver etc. Overall this is a decent card to start with as a beginner. But, it has basic and limited benefits only. So, if you wish to enjoy some additional privileges you can checkout Standard Chartered Platinum Rewards card. This was free till recent but now I think they charge a nominal fee of Rs.250 only. You should select a credit card as per your own requirements.
    You are right, having too many credit cards can impact your credit score. As far as you remain regular in paying bills then it shall positively affect your credit score.

• Hi, You can try Citibank Rewards card. There is an annual fee waiver option if your expenses exceed Rs.30k in a year. So, you can turn this to your advantage. You also earn good reward points, some shopping offers and restaurant discounts are also available on this card. Rest, its my personal view, this suited my needs.

• Yes, having too many credit cards and not paying credit card bills on time can hamper your credit score. It's better to stick to 1-2 cards based on your primary usage. I too started with a free credit card. Standard Chartered Platinum Rewards was my first choice. When I applied, they did not charge me any fee. I am not sure if they charge anything to new card applicants.